Inlägget följer på svenska!

Franciacorta is a DOCG in Italy. Do you know of it? For me it was just an Italian place-name I happened to stumble upon at some time, until last fall. At the European wine bloggers conferencein Vienna, Austria, it was announced where the up coming conference would be at Franciacorta – this caught my attention.

Franciacorta is a region of Lombardy, just north of Brescia, some miles east-north-east of Milano. It extends from the plains of the river Po in the north to the shores of Lake Iseo in the south and from the river Oglio in the west to the town of Cellatica in the east. Franciacorta is one of two DOCGs in Lombardia, they received the classification in 1995. The region is perhaps best know for it’s prestigious sparkling wines, and are considered by many as one of the worlds finest area for sparkling wine production.

There isn’t an abundance of Fraciacorta wines at the Swedish monopoly, read more here. There were at least one wine that was on the shelves last fall, a sparkling wine which tasted. This and my curiousness got the better of me so I ordered a few more bottles some weeks ago. Yesterday I picked them up; a sparkling wine, a white wine and a red wine.

The opening of and drinking will have to wait a few weeks. Next weekend my older brother turns 40 and the weekend after that I’ll attend an Austrian wine tasting at Handlavin.se. All in all I have a few weeks to think up a menu to compliment the wines. As most of it is white I’ll guess it’ll be something with fish, mussels, shrimps and or crayfish – then again it might be fowl or light meat. What complicates it all, and makes it interesting, is the fact that I really haven’t a good idea of how the wines taste. Well I’ll have to google my way around the net and see what you guys might have written about it.

Magnus Reuterdahl

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Franciacorta är ett DOCG i Italien. Känner du till den? För mig var det ett Italienskt ortnamn som jag stött på vid något tillfälle, tills i höstas. I samband med den europeiska vinbloggarkonferensen (EWBC2010) i Wien i höstas presenterades orten för nästa konferens såsom Franciacorta – varefter mitt intresse genast väcktes.

Franciacorta är en region i Lombardiet, lite norr om Brescia och några mil östnordöst om Milano. Regionen sträcker sig från slättmarkerna kring floden Po i norr till Iseos stränder i söder, från floden Oglio i väster till staden Cellatica i öster. Franciacorta är en av två DOCGs i Lombardiet, de fick sin klassifikation 1995. Man är kanske mest känd för sina ypperliga mousserade viner, som många håller som några av de bästa i världen.

Viner från Franciacorta finns dock inte i något överflöd på vårt statliga monopol (läs mer här), i höstas fanns åtminstone på ett nyhetssläpp som jag provade och för någon månad sedan bestämde jag mig för att beställa hem några flaskor. Nu har dom kommit; ett mousserat, ett stilla vitt och ett rött.

Öppnandet och inmundigandet av får dock tillstå ett par veckor – nästa vecka firar en av mina bröder 40 och helgen därpå ska jag på sortimentsprovning hos Handlavin.se, är du intresserad av österrikiska viner finns några platser kvar. Så jag har ett par veckor på mig att tänka till kring en meny – eftersom att det är mycket vitt kommer det sannolikt bli något med fisk eller skaldjur, men å andra sidan skulle man kunna tänka sig fågel eller ljust kött – jag får ta mig en funderare. Det som komplicerar och gör det hela lite mer intressant är att jag varken druckit rött eller vitt från regionen, dock har jag druckit ett mousserat, och därför inte har någon riktig bild av hur vinerna smakar. Det blir att studera nätet efter kommentarer om vinerna.

Magnus Reuterdahl